Fall Street Style

Normally around this time all the summer clothes would be packed up. I would be airing out our coats, getting rid of the storage smell and wrinkles. Our spring and summer accoutrements of sunscreen, hundreds of baseball caps and flip flops would be traded for cozy hats and scarves, fur-lined gloves and boots of all shapes and sizes. Wellies, snow boots, leather boots…I adore boots. Boots just make an outfit. And if the boot has a lovely long line and a tall skinny heel, well then … It just wants to come home with me!

BOOTS

Michael Kors Knee Boot

I digress.

SMYTHE_COAT_2

Smythe Tweed Blazer

Since we live in the land of perpetual 80-something degrees, I can only dream of coats and cable knit sweaters, fair-isle socks and my boots. Our closets stay the same and I haven’t changed my daily around-the-house-matchbox-car-protecting sandals (my trusty Adidas) in what feels like forever. That suits me just fine because while I love clothes of all seasons, I don’t love all seasons. I like those few and far between fall days when it’s chilly in the mornings and evenings but daytime warms up to the low 70’s. I love the rainy cool days when it’s gray and chilly, but only if I can stay inside in a cozy sweater and cuddle up with a good book in front of the fire. But I have kids and those of you with kids know those cozy days in front of the fire are just a faint memory. They don’t exist anymore.

Smythe 2013

Smythe 2013 Mohair Pea Coat in Lake

And I really hate winter. Like really despise winter; I abhor winter. I really, really, really don’t like being cold. I don’t like cold sheets. I don’t like snow and the perpetual gray skies are depressing. The redeeming features of most of fall and all of Christmas is opportunity to change the house around and to pretend-shop by pulling our winter clothes out.

SCARF

J Crew Plaid Scarf

So I relish my warm weather because we can be outside at all times of the day. I don’t have to find the extra storage for a four seasons worth of clothes and all our sandals can fit in one large basket.

So this is my street style if I could have that kind of street style. I would melt into nothing. But I love a good blazer. You can layer and if you have little boy hands and that get into everything, a blazer with a good pattern is most forgiving. Also I love gold; it’s warm and glowing. And the boots!

Enough said.

STREET STYLE

Leave a comment